Mom, If Only I Had Known

I miss my mom. I wish she was here so I could tell her all the things she was right about. I wish I could tell her I now understand her struggles, and that I'm sorry I didn't have a clue back then to offer her the comfort and shoulder she needed. I'm sorry I was often selfish and just plain stupid (the bane of youth and inexperience). I would so love right now to sit with her over a cup of coffee or a glass of good wine - just the two of us - for some good heart-to-heart conversation. And, God knows, how I would delight in the touch of her warm small hand in mine. My mother was an intelligent, creative, compassionate and complicated woman who deserved far better than she received from life (or from me, for that matter). Oh, Mom... I wish I could tell you. I wish I could tell you. And... to you reading this: if your mother is still on this earth, take the time to tell her all the things you love about her and have learned from her. Tell her you love her, regardless of your past struggles. Tell her before all you have left is a wish that you had told her.

Write a comment

Comments: 0