Dancing With the Sea

My dad took me on a day trip to Catalina Island way back when I was in my late teens. It was my first time on the ocean, and I was not prepared for the seasickness that overcame me. We spent the trip over to the island on deck where I could get some relief from my hurling guts, and we had a fine time exploring Catalina. What a great day it was! Yet, I was not looking forward to the journey back to the California coast for obvious reasons.

The wind had whipped up and the air had cooled considerably once we boarded the excursion ship. I was freezing even though I was wearing a thick denim jacket. Going down to the warmer tourist deck was out of the question for I had begun to get seasick again, and being in an enclosed space only made it worse. So there I was clinging to the rail and having a marvelous time despite the bitter cold and my nausea, and really appreciating my dad's uncomplaining support at my side.

After a while we noticed there was only one other person at top with us, a tall and skinny hippie guy who was swaying his body to the movement of the waves. He was happy, seemingly in a strange meditative state while fully conscious of everything around him. I met his eyes and smiled. I just couldn't help it.

Continuing his harmonious swaying, extending and waving his arms as if he was caressing something precious, he explained to me, "I'm dancing with the sea."

My dad laughed and turned once more to the rail where he could view the ocean. My dad was always a bit apprehensive when it came to people he didn't understand so he chose not to engage with this unique young man.

I, however, fully appreciated the guy's unhindered spirit.

He then told me, "It'll help control your seasickness."

I had no idea I was that obvious. I imagined my face must have appeared slightly green, and perhaps my grip on the railing gave another clue. He wordlessly, with a rolling flip of his hand, encouraged me to give it a try. I followed his example, matched his stance and his steps, swayed in harmony to the movement of the little ship upon the tossing waves.

It worked. I no longer felt sick.

Despite my dad's embarrassment, I danced with the sea until we docked.

So it is when life itself is turbulent. It's a lesson I sometimes forget in all the upheaval, but when I remember, it surely calms my soul.

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Gwyndolyn Witt (Monday, 26 June 2023 01:59)

    Collene is so feel dancing with the sea. I too know not too go into a small cabin on board a fishing charter Queen Of Hearts..Half Moon Bay CA
    Captain Bob said drop your line. Yup it wasn't the motion in the ocean. Its was my stomach hurling in to the sea! Oh the Fish were Dancing so was the big blue clink cod I caught when my 3 # weight went down with a jolt as a huge yellow jell fish went down. Still remembering NEVER GO INSIDE A SMALL CABIN while still in the Harbor as we slowing started out to sea as the waves got bigger...the sicker I got